You're not in Kansas anymore…

Doctor Who

The BBC series Doctor Who first made its debut in 1963 and ran until 1989. In 2005 it reappeared and continues to be one of Britain’s best contributions to the modern world. Since 1963 the titular character has gone through 10 “official” regenrations, making the current doctor the eleventh.

In short, Doctor Who tells the story of a 900-and-something-year-old Time Lord from the planet Gallifrey who travels through time and space in his TARDIS (Time And Relative Dimensions In Space). He usually travels with one or more companions, often human but occasionally alien or tin dogs. Together they get into trouble, partly due to the Doctor’s inability to properly navigate his TARDIS. The show is by turns exciting, scary, educational, hilarious and heartbreaking. But it is always awesome!

The Doctor has the ability to regenerate, which means that over the years he has changed drastically – and seems to be getting younger. With each new look comes a new personality, although his genius and brilliance is constant. My favourite doctors to date are Tom Baker

…with his lovely scarf…

and David Tennant

…partly the outfit, partly the gorgeous.

There are also recurring monsters, none better than the Daleks.

Shiny pretty monsters.

And here’s a great video pretty much summing up the new series.

Love, Mari


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s