You're not in Kansas anymore…

Anthony Eden

So, no, we are not going to become a history blog (we are going down in history, though), but a few weeks ago I was at a lecture where the teacher called Anthony Eden (1897-1977) one of the glamour boys in Parliament, and that immediately caught my attention.

I want to be a glamour boy (girl) in Parliament. What a cool epithet! Of course, when I say glamour girl, I do not mean our contemporary definition of glamour girls, cause hello, how would they get a seat in parliament? But a glamour boy (girl) in Parliament? In the 1930’s? I’m there! And yeah, I get that politics in the 1930s perhaps wasn’t all fun and games, but I’m just gonna sit there and be glamourous with my boy Anthony.

Anyway, I thought it’d be interesting to have a looksie at our, so far, favorite glamour boy, so without much further ado, I bring to you: Anthony Eden!

So what if he’s ranked among the least successful British Prime Ministers of the twentieth century – the man’s got style!

So much style that the silk-brimmed, black felt Homburg became known (and is still called) the Anthony Eden hat. Nice. There is, in comparison, no Hanna Volle hat. But just you wait, Henry Higgins!

Some of his contemporaries didn’t, for some reason or other (I’m gonna go with jealousy or ignorance or both), appreciate Eden’s awesome style. Let me give you some quotes on how they perceived him: “vain as a peacock and all the mannerisms of a petit maître”,  “a poor feeble little pansy”, “smoothie”, “not a gentleman” because he dressed “too well”, “that’s Anthony — half mad baronet, half beautiful woman”.

I’m gonna go with dashingly dapper. Well done, glamour boy!

Love, Hanna

Leave a Reply

