You're not in Kansas anymore…

Kimberly Newport-Mimran

In February, as I was perusing the program of New York Fashion Week, a (to me) unknown brand screamed for attention: Pink Tartan. This has got to be good, I thought, and promptly googled earlier collections. It was everything I hoped it would be, so today I want to share this fashion house and the magnificent designer behind it, with you guys. I hope you’ll like it as much as I do.

This here is Kimberly Newport-Mimran (1968 – ), the President and Head Designer of Pink Tartan, a brand she launched with her husband in 2002. Newport-Mimran started her career in fashion when she was 14, selling retail, before she went on to study fashion merchandising.

Newport-Mimran wants to design “clothes to live your life in.” Ah, I wish.

As you read up on Kimberly Newport-Mimran, you find a lot of her fashion philosophy in snappy, little sentences such as:

“Simplicity is the secret to elegance.”

I sort of agree. Sometimes. But other times, excessiveness is just so right! What do you think?

I do loooove the hats, though.

and the colors

and the retroness (not a word, you say? Don’t care, I say)

Love, Hanna

4 responses

  1. Lily

    Wow, she looks like a model herself…

    May 24, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    • vincent

      I know her when she was 14, because kim was my girlfriend in grade 8.
      She was so particular in dressing, her future is what she is doing now.
      good luck kim,
      vince

      July 7, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  2. kb

    Her and her husband are fashion, home and brand powerhouses (Joe Mimran) here in Canada esp in Toronto. I feel it is patriotic to share that Pink Tartan is known for excellent tailoring, good quality classics with a fun side. I love her coats!!

    May 26, 2011 at 4:05 pm

  3. So do we!

    And we bow our heads in awe and admiration to the country that gave us Pink Tartan. Yay Canada 🙂

    May 27, 2011 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

