You're not in Kansas anymore…

Audrey Hepburn

I believe in manicures, I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and I believe in miracles. – Audrey Hepburn wisdom –

I was shocked and appalled the other day to realize that we have yet to have Audrey Hepburn as our Hottie here at Vili Flik. True, we have professed her greatness several times in other posts, but now she deserves her very own Hottie post.

Audrey Hepburn (1929-93) was a Belgian born actress, dancer and model. Her breakthrough came in 1953 in the fantastic movie Roman Holiday, for which she got an Academy Award, and she also starred in Sabrina, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Funny Face and My Fair Lady.

She was insanely beautiful and a great dresser. in 1961 she was included on The International Best Dressed List Hall of Fame, where you can also find people like Coco Chanel, Carolina Herrera, Evangeline Blahnik, Bianca Jagger, Nicole Kidman, Estee Lauder and the list goes on and on. Someday we all want to be there as well.

Fun fact: The Audrey, being awesomely awesome, was actually not perfect. She couldn’t sing. So, except for a very few places in My Fair Lady, she is not the one who’s singing.

And ah, the wonderful polka dotty dress from Sabrina

From the 1950s and till her death she worked for UNICEF, and spent a lot of her time in the most disadvantaged parts of Africa, Asia and South America. Oh yeah, she was great.

Pink, short and extremely simple wedding dress – and she pulls it off!

The Audrey in plaid

When starring in Sabrina, Audrey met Hubert de Givenchy for the first time, and later on she was often his muse. Muse for Givenchy. That’s nice.

Quite fabulous, isn’t she?

Love, Hanna

3 responses

  1. I love Audrey Hepburn so I love this post. There’s a couple of photos on here that I’ve never seen. As for her singing, I know she wasn’t good enough for the all out musical of My Fair Lady. But she did sing Moon River in Breakfast at Tiffany’s and all of her own parts in Funny Face. I like her voice, but I can see how it’s not up to par with the “musical” standard 🙂

    February 25, 2011 at 2:22 pm

  2. I totally forgot about her singing in Funny Face, but of course she does! And I think almost my favorite version of Moon River is when she’s singing it on the stairs in BaT… my bad, I forgot about those. I guess compared to Julie Andrews (who I’ve heard they originally wanted to play Eliza Dolittle) she’s not much of a singer though, but she’s good enough for me! 😉

    Some of the pics where new to me too when I was writing this post – there are a lot of great ones of her out there! 🙂

    Hanna

    February 25, 2011 at 9:59 pm

  3. poonam

    i m crazy to know about audrey,,,,,,,,,,,,sche is fabulous,,,awsm

    May 19, 2012 at 2:45 am

Leave a Reply

