You're not in Kansas anymore…

Dr. Strangelove

This week’s film recommendation is Stanley Kubrick’s classic Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (1964).

The film is an amazing black and white war-drama-comedy, starring the incredible Peter Sellers in several roles, including the title character, former Nazi scientist Dr. Strangelove.

Now, even if you have no (or a bad) experience with black and white films, don’t let that stop you! I promise that whatever your film-historical experience is, you will enjoy this one. It is absurd, hilarious and thought-provoking, and the acting, directing and script are all superb. I’m not sure I want to give away too much (as the first time I watched this film I knew very little about it and enjoyed it immensely, I have a strange superstition or something that everyone else should also watch it without knowing too much about it), I just really recommend setting aside an evening to watch this classic. It is one of those rare things you can watch and rewatch indefinitely and get the same wonderful experience every time.

So, instead of telling you the plot, I will simply share the trailer with you

and I’ll leave you with this famous quote from the film:

Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room!

Enjoy!

Love, Mari

2 responses

  1. Erlend

    Fantastisk film!

    February 12, 2011 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

