You're not in Kansas anymore…

The City of Lost Children

Today’s film recommendation is a slightly obscure French piece of cinema from 1995, The City of Lost Childen, or, La Cité des Enfants Perdus.

The film is directed by Marc Caro and Jean-Pierre Jeunet, who are also responsible for Delicatessen (1991) and Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain (2001). It stars Ron Perlman as One, a strongman who gets caught up in the strange disappearance of several children in an equally strange city. Miette, a young girl, beautifully portrayed by Judith Vittet, is conducting her own investigation into the mystery, and One assists her in her search.

The film is stylish, beautifully shot, weird and spectacular. The set design is marvellous and so is the cinematography. The story, which I will not reveal as it’s more fun going into this one “untainted”, is fantastic and strange. And the cast is filled with wonderfully weird characters and actors, who all help make this film a strange dream-like experience.

Bad Guy… That’s all I will say…

Oh, and did I mention that the costumes were designed by Jean-Paul Gaultier? Oh yeah, it’s that good! Enjoy the film, it’s a unique experience, one which you should not be without.

Love, Mari

One response

  1. People who watch this should be sure to not miss the Marianne Faithful song that plays over the ending credits–it’s the perfect ending to the movie.

    City of Lost Children is one of my all time faves. What’s amazing is that each time I watch it I notice things I never noticed before.

    For newbies, there is one crucial thing you need to know to enjoy this movie: If you don’t understand it, don’t worry about it. Grasping the plot is not really the key to this movie. I’m pretty sure I didn’t really “get” what was going on until the third time I’d seen it, and yet even after the very first viewing I knew it was one of the most magical films I’d ever seen.

    July 27, 2011 at 4:11 am

Leave a Reply

