You're not in Kansas anymore…

Words words words

Hello my dearies.

We here on Viliflik are, as you may have noticed, fond of literature. Not only the sentences, each following the other, creating wonderful stories of mystery and adventure; no, we care for words. The single word on its own, with its myriad of meanings, symbolisms and connotations. You might have heard a snazzy little saying go “the word is more powerful than the sword”, and believe me, this is true (a certain distance from said sword is required of course, but let’s not get into details), and this is why I want to use this opportunity to point your attention to a campaign started by Oxford Dictionary. It is called Save the Words, and the idea is that you chose a word that is about to go out of the English language, and adopt it. Then it is your job to help keep that word alive and in use.

I myself have adopted the word murklins, which means “in the dark” and which I have grown to love and cherish.

I urge you to visit the website  and adopt a word of your own, you find it here: http://www.savethewords.org/

Because words are important too.

Love, Elin

4 responses

  1. I find myself the proud mother of the word vanmost. -Hanna-

    November 29, 2010 at 7:07 pm

  2. Annette

    And I just adopted the most wonderful word ever, Quibbleism. She is simply an act of beating around the bush. I love her.

    November 30, 2010 at 10:12 am

  3. Quibbleism. Lovely.

    November 30, 2010 at 10:18 am

  4. I have the great honour of being the carer of the word Tortiloquy. And I assure you, this is no tortiloquy! -Mari

    November 30, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Leave a Reply

