You're not in Kansas anymore…

American Gods

American Gods is written by Neil Gaiman and was published in 2001.

The novel is about Shadow who is released from jail early because his wife has died in a car accident. On his way to the funeral he is approached by Mr. Wednesday, a mysterious man who seems to know everything about Shadow.

It turns out that Mr. Wednesday is in fact the Norse god Odin. He is attempting to raise an army of mythological gods against the new gods of technology.

A storm is approaching and Shadow finds himself embarking on a fantastic journey through America.

American Gods is a wonderful novel. Gaimanโ€™s ability to tell stories is absolutely amazing. The novel has won several awards for Best Novel, including a Hugo award, a Nebula award and a Bram Stoker award.

American Gods is one of my favorite novels, and one that it is hard to put down once you’ve begun reading. I higly recommend it to everyone.

Love, Elin

4 responses

  1. Okay, I admit it. I was curious to see what else you enjoy after reading your entry on Chuck Palahniuk. Incidentally, I wrote my master’s thesis focusing partly on Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman (which, as you probably know, is somewhat connected to American Gods). American Gods is a wonderful book, too.

    November 19, 2010 at 12:39 pm

  2. … And now that I have read the description of this blog, I do apologise. Apparently, I had not realised that there are three of you.

    November 19, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    • Hehe, that’s OK. We tend to read a lot of the same books anyway. ๐Ÿ˜€ I have read both Anansi Boys and American Gods, and truly enjoyed both of them. Keep reading Palahniuk, he’s a very interesting author! And thanks for your comments. ๐Ÿ™‚
      -Mari

      November 20, 2010 at 12:17 pm

      • You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚
        And I do intend to keep reading Palahniuk. A few of his books are on my wishlist already.

        November 21, 2010 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

